Little Richard And Samuel Beckett In A Scene From The Unreleased 1969 Dušan Makavejev Film ‘The Age of Indeterminacy’

“May I touch you?”
“Pardon?”
“May I touch your hand?”
“What for?”
“I don’t know. Sometimes it’s just nice to be touched. Don’t you like to be touched?”
“I do. And I don’t.”
“You have very lovely hands. Do you play the piano?”
“No.”
“I do.”
“I see.”
“Such long fingers.”
“Eh.”
“I won’t hurt you.”
“Where?”
“On the hand.”
“No. Thank you.”
“Is there somewhere else you’d rather be touched?”
“Please. Don’t.”
“Such lovely bones.”
“I am. Bones. Nothing more.”
“You’re more than that, honey. We all are.”
“I would prefer not to be touched.”
“Why is that?”
“It reminds me.”
“Of what?”
“Of me.”
“Uh-huh. Go on.”
“Being touched reminds me that there is a me to be touched.”
“But there is a you. I can see you.”
“Maybe. Not.”
“You’re right in front of me, Sam.”
“Look away.”
“And then what? What good what that do?”
“I’ll disappear.”
“You’ll still be sitting right there.”
“Perhaps.”
“No perhaps about it. You’re here and I’m here and we’re drinking this nice tea and it’s beautiful day outside and I just wanted to know if it was okay if I put my hand on your hand. But if you don’t want me to then I won’t.”
“Thank you.”
“Would you like to touch me?”
“Where?”
“On my hand.”
“Thank you. No.”
“I put some lotions on my hands. And let me tell you something, they are baby smooth.”
“What? Where?”
“My hands, child. Feel the love.”
“I’d rather not.”
“It’s very important to be touched in this life. My mama, bless her soul, when she was dying in the hospital the only thing she wanted was for someone to touch her, just hold her hand. She used to tell me that the worst part about getting old is that people stop touching you. I think that’s just awful.”
“No one gets old.”
“I’m sorry? Come again?”
“No one gets old.”
“Everyone gets old.”
“The body gets old. What’s inside stays the same.”
“Now you’re talking. Let’s hear this.”
“That’s all.”
“I think I understand what you’re saying, but I don’t think there is a difference between the body and the soul. I think they’re one in the same.”
“There is a body. And there is a not body. Between the two is a unbridgeable chasm.”
“Is that really true?”
“Eh?”
“Do you really believe that?”
“Eh.”
“Let’s just say that I don’t agree with you.”
“Well. Then.”
“I am my body and my body is me and always the twain shall meet.”
“So.”
“That’s just how I feel.”
“Explain.”
“I can’t.”
“Go on.”
“I’m going to pour you some more tea. You look like you need some freshening up.”
“Convince me.”
“But see, that’s the thing honey. I don’t have to convince you. All I have to do is outlive you.”

Leave a Reply

